Charleston Symphony Orchestra Presents

Stravinsky’s PETRUSHKA

Mar 4, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Mar 5, 2022 at 7:30 pm

Current Masterworks and Pops subscribers may renew online by logging into their account below. If you need assistance renewing your Masterworks or Pops subscription online, refer to the document here.
Seat Change Deadline: May 15, 2021
Renewal Deadline: June 15, 2021

Pick 6, new Masterworks, and new Pops subscribers may purchase subscriptions at the link below. If you need assistance renewing your Pick 6 or purchasing a new Masterworks and Pops subscription, refer to the document here.

Single tickets on sale later this summer. For any questions, please contact the CSO at

Violin, TBD
Ken Lam, Conductor



Johannes Brahms’ one and only violin concerto does indeed demonstrate the gifts of its soloist, but it is less focused on technique and more on substance and expression. It also features extensive passages for the orchestra, often highlighting the woodwinds and giving the concerto an almost symphonic feel.

Igor Stravinsky’s ballet Petrushka tells the story of the title character, a popular puppet in Russian folk tales, who finds himself in several uniquely human experiences including love and death. After his success with The Firebird, Petrushka was a bold step away from the late-Romantic period influence, and it signaled his move into creating the sounds that we know him for today. It is bold, colorful, contrasting, and free while at times it often conjures Russian folk tunes and dances. In 1947, Stravinsky revised the work to make it more suitable for orchestral performance and that is the version most widely heard by audiences today.