Charleston Symphony Orchestra Presents

Hart of Tchaikovsky
The Shanghai Quartet Premieres A Charleston Concerto

Jan 7, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Jan 8, 2022 at 7:30 pm

Current Masterworks and Pops subscribers may renew online by logging into their account below. If you need assistance renewing your Masterworks or Pops subscription online, refer to the document here.
Seat Change Deadline: May 15, 2021
Renewal Deadline: June 15, 2021

Pick 6, new Masterworks, and new Pops subscribers may purchase subscriptions at the link below. If you need assistance renewing your Pick 6 or purchasing a new Masterworks and Pops subscription, refer to the document here.

Single tickets on sale later this summer. For any questions, please contact the CSO at

The Shanghai Quartet
Weigang Li and Angelo Xiang Yu, Violins
-Honggang Li, Viola
-Nicholas Tzavaras, Cello

Ken Lam, Conductor



SYMPHONY NO. 4 IN F MINOR, OP. 36            

This performance will explore fanfare, reflection, and fate with music from two living composers and a 19th Century Russian Romantic. The concert opens with Black American composer Adolphus Hailstork’s Fanfare on “Amazing Grace,” a work performed by “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band at the 2021 Presidential Inauguration. Listeners will find that its brass embellishment grasps your attention while its familiar hymnal melody captivates. 

The Shanghai Quartet—one of the world’s foremost chamber ensembles—will join the Charleston Symphony for the world premiere of A Charleston Concerto, written by local composer Edward Hart to commemorate the 350th anniversary of the City of Charleston. Through imagining native people’s discovery of the harbor, by celebrating the Gullah culture with nods to its musical heritage, and with optimism for what is to come, the concerto does not shy away from history. However, it leaves the listener optimistically looking forward to better days ahead.

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 was written during an emotionally tumultuous time in the composer’s life—and it shows. The theme of fate makes its appearance early and often in the work. Despite its heavy-handed melancholy, the symphony still manages to remain optimistic and lush with bright brass and soothing strings.