Charleston Symphony Orchestra Presents

CSO Pops 1: Music of the Movies: The Oscar Goes To…

No upcoming perfomances found for this event.

Kayleen Sanchez, Soprano
Shanelle Woods, Soprano
Edward Brennan, Tenor
Yuriy Bekker, Conductor

The opening concert of the Charleston Symphony Pops season will commemorate timeless music from classic movies such as Breakfast at Tiffany’s (“Moon River”), Dances with Wolves, The Wizard of Oz, Vertigo, Titanic and the renowned musicals West Side Story and La La Land.

Known for his memorable and award-winning film scores, legendary composer and conductor John Williams celebrated his 90th birthday in 2022. This concert will feature music from Williams’ film score from Lincoln and Jurassic Park


John Williams “With Malice Toward None” from Lincoln: Orchestral Suite

John Williams “Theme” from Jurassic Park

Ludwig van Beethoven “Allegretto” from Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92

Harold Arlen and Yip Harburg, arr. Bill Holcombe “Over the Rainbow” from The Wizard of Oz

Bernard Herrmann “Love Scene” from Vertigo Suite

Justin Hurwitz La La Land: Concert Suite


Quincy Jones, arr. Johnnie Vinson Soul Basanova

John Barry, arr. Steven Rosenhaus Dances With Wolves: Concert Suite

Henry Mancini, arr. John Moss “Moon River” from Breakfast at Tiffany’s

James Horner, arr. Paul Bateman “My Heart Will Go On” from Titanic

Andrew Lloyd Webber, Charles Hart, and Richard Stilgoe “Think of Me” from Phantom of the Opera

Leonard Bernstein West Side Story Concert Suite No. 1