Charleston Symphony Presents

CSO Masterworks 8 Fri: Dvorak’s Seventh Symphony
With Grieg's Piano Concerto

No upcoming perfomances found for this event.

Lina González-Granados, Conductor
Sara Davis Buechner, Piano

About the Show

In this Masterworks Series finale, the CSO travels through time and across the globe with music heavily infused with folk dances and sounds masterfully merged with orchestrated composition. Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto, Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7, and an exciting opening piece that we can’t wait to announce soon.

Chicago Sun-Times wrote of conductor Lina González-Granados, “With her obvious podium skills, she is on her way to a vibrant career.” González-Granados has won multiple prizes and is internationally recognized for her powerful interpretations of the symphonic and operatic repertoire. In recent years, she has made debuts stateside with the LA Phil, Chicago Symphony, New York Philharmonic, San Francisco Symphony, National Symphony, and Houston Symphony.

Pianist Sara Buechner returns to the CSO to perform Edvard Grieg‘s Piano Concerto in A minor.

Grieg, also a talented pianist in addition to being a composer, wrote his Piano Concerto with obvious understanding and expertise of the keys. As such, it has become one of the most popular piano concertos among soloists and audiences alike. Expressive cellos, wistful woodwinds, and horns make significant appearances throughout, but never so that the piece becomes excessively emotive. The final movement of the concerto integrates inspiration from Grieg’s cultural heritage with a jaunty tune representing a dance common to rural Norway called the halling.


Edvard Grieg                Piano Concerto in A minor
Antonín Dvořák           Symphony No. 7 in D minor

Antonín Dvořák is well-known for often melding his native Bohemian folk music with traditional symphonic structures. The result in his Symphony No. 7 is a delightful, at times dramatic, and sometimes downright hummable work. His distinctive integration is heard in the third movement when the rustic, easygoing dance plays over top of a traditional waltzlike melody. Dvořák accomplished what he intended – for Czech music to move the world – with his Seventh Symphony, which is considered by many to be his best.


  • The breadth of Ms. Buechner’s artistry, spanning thundering fortissimos and chiseled passagework, as well as lyrical moments colored by a poetic sensitivity that was tempered by wit and judicious restraint” – The New York Times
  • Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A minor was the only concerto the composer ever completed.
  • “My new symphony must be such as to make a stir in the world,” Dvořák wrote to a friend during 1884 (the year his Seventh Symphony was written).