Be a part of bringing the arts to life

Become a Member Today!

As a Member of the Charleston Gaillard Center you’ll enjoy exclusive benefits while supporting your performing arts center. Membership Levels are tailored for you. You will receive an array of exciting benefits sure to leave you feeling like a VIP.

Learn More

The Charleston Gaillard Center presents


Emanuel Ax

October 23, 2018 @ 7:30 pm
$22-$85 (+applicable fees)
buy tickets
Emanuel Ax @ Charleston Gaillard Center

Born in modern day Lvov, Poland, Emanuel Ax moved to Winnipeg, Canada, with his family when he was a young boy. He is a winner of the Young Concert Artist Award, Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Competition, Michaels Award and the Avery Fisher Prize.

Always a committed exponent of contemporary composers, with works written for him by John Adams, Christopher Rouse, Krzysztof Penderecki, Bright Sheng, and Melinda Wagner already in his repertoire, most recently he has added HK Gruber’s Piano Concerto and Samuel Adams’ “Impromptus”.

A frequent and committed partner for chamber music, he has worked regularly with such artists as Young Uck Kim, Cho-Liang Lin, Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Peter Serkin, Jaime Laredo, and the late Isaac Stern. Mr. Ax resides in New York City with his wife, pianist Yoko Nozaki, with whom he has two children. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and holds honorary doctorates of music from Yale and Columbia Universities.


The Rhapsodies, Op.79 BRAHMS (1833-1897)

No. 1 in B minor, Agitato

No. 2 in G minor, Molto passionate, ma non troppo allegro

Piano Figures G. BENJAMIN (1960- )

Fantasiestücke, Op.12 SCHUMANN (1810 – 1856)

Des Abends



Grillen I

n der Nacht


Traumes Wirren

Ende vom Lied


Valses nobles et sentimentales RAVEL (1875 – 1937)

Modéré – très franc

Assez lent – avec une expression intense


Assez animé

Presque lent – dans un sentiment intime


Moins vif

Épilogue: lent

Nocturne in B Major, Op.62, No.1 CHOPIN (1810 – 1849)

Mazurkas, Op. 50 CHOPIN (1810 – 1849)

No. 1 in G major

No. 2 in A-fl at major

No. 3 in C-sharp minor

Andante spianato et grande polonaise brillante in E-flat

Major, Op.22 CHOPIN (1810 – 1849)

This Performance is part of the Charleston Gaillard center’s Director Series and classic great performance series.

Choose your series below!

Classic Great Performance Series

Director Series